ARIZONA HOMESCHOOL LAW
If you desire to start home schooling and your child is between the ages of 6 and 16 years of age then proceed with the following:
- File with the County School Superintendent an affidavit of intent and a certified copy of the child's birth certificate within 30 days of starting home schooling.
The affidavit should include: child’s name, date of birth, current address of school, and name, telephone, & address of parent.
If you do not wish to begin formal education until 8 years of age, note this on the home school affidavit.
- Provide instruction in reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science.
- Notify the County School Superintendent within 30 days of terminating home school.
Home schooled children returning to the public school system shall be tested by the school to determine their appropriate grade level.
Home schooled students may be eligible for Regent Scholarships.
Home schooled children who reside within the attendance area of a school shall be allowed to participate in interscholastic athletic competition on behalf of the school.
NOTE: this abbreviated summary does not constitute a legal opinion.
Please check the Arizona Families for Home Education website for more information about Arizona laws pertaining to home education.